Nondiscrimination Statement

"In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, religion, sex, familial status, sexual orientation, and reprisal."

The Planning Commission

The planning Commission meets monthly on the third Tuesday, 7 pm at the Union Township Hall, 2010 S Lincoln Rd, Mt Pleasant, MI 48858.    

9 members, who must be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the local unit of government, in accordance with the major interests as they exist in the local unit of government, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce. The membership must also be representative of the entire geography of the local unit of government to the extent practicable.

Members of a planning commission must be qualified electors of the township, except one planning commission member may be individual who is not a qualified elector. (To be a qualified elector, a person must be 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, and have lived in the township at least 30 days. Property ownership is NOT required).

One member of the township board shall be an ex officio member of the planning commission.

All members of the planning commission shall be appointed by the township supervisor with the approval of the township board, for a term of 3 years, with the exception of the ex officio member, whose term expires with his or her term on the township board.

OMA/FOIA Status:
Public body subject to Open Meetings Act and Freedom of Information Act.



Submission Deadlines


 Applications Due

  Minimum Deadline

 Special Use Permit                4 weeks         
 Rezoning       4 weeks
 Preliminary Site Plan       3 weeks
 Final Site Plan       3 weeks
 Other Development Applications           4 weeks

Apply to serve on the Planning Commission

Request for Special Use, Rezoning, Site Plan, and other Development Approvals



C. Alex Fuller, Secretary  2-15-23

834 E. Pickard


Mike Darin  2-15-22

2075 Amber Ln.


Stan Shingles   2-15-24

1575 Scully Rd.


Jessica Lapp  2-15-23

2113 McDonald Dr.


James Thering  11-20-24

1975 Chadwick Ct.


Doug LaBelle II  2-15-22

955 Meadowbrook Dr.


Philip Squattrito, Chair  2-15-23

1797 James Ct.

772-5450 (H) 774-4407 (W)

Ryan Buckley  2-15-22

3978 McGuirk

(989) 774-1489(W)

Tera Albrecht  2-15-24

2761 Weatherwood St